IPA Award Recipients

Excellence in Board Leadership Award

2021        Aarika White, PhD, HSPP
        Maria P. Hanzlik, PsyD, HSPP; Sean Samuels, PsyD, HSPP; and Tasha Williams, PhD, HSPP 
2019        Melissa Butler, PhD, HSPP

Excellence in State Leadership in Psychology Award

This is a special award to recognize the long-term commitment of an IPA member to excellence in the profession of Psychology through active leadership in policy, regulation and education throughout Indiana.

2023       Stephen Ross, PsyD, HSPP
2021       Elizabeth Akey, PhD, HSPP
2019       Joseph R. Biggs, PhD, HSPP and Sharon L Bowman, PhD, HSPP, ABPP, LMHC

Theodore H. Barrett Award for Media Coverage
This award was established in 1986 to encourage better media coverage of psychology and mental health topics. It is presented periodically to a representative of the media who has contributed accurate and compelling coverage of psychology and mental health topics.
2014       Susan Bryant and Indy’s Child (magazine)
2013       Erika D. Smith and the Indianapolis Star
2012       Virginia Black and Mary Kate Malone South Bend Tribune
2011       Aleasha Sandley
2010       Matthew Tully and the Indianapolis Star
2008       Debby Knox, WISH-TV
Charles E. Heineman Allied Professional Award
This award is presented periodically to a non-psychologist professional for outstanding contributions to the furtherance of the aims and purposes of psychology as a science and a profession. The intention in the term “professional” should be given the broadest possible interpretation.
2023        Wendy Waldman, BC, BCIST, CIRS
2017-2022       Not awarded

2016       Cathy Pratt, PhD
2013       Kimble Richardson, MS, LMHC, LCSW, LMFT, LCAC           
2012       Christopher D Bojrab, MD
2011       Kurt Kroenke, MD, MACP
2010       Ann M DeLaney, Esq
2009       Heather Allen Hershberger
2008       Joseph J Mamlin, MD
Outstanding Contribution to IPA Award
Presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to IPA and its mission to promote and serve psychologists in Indiana.
2023       Pam Reed, PsyD, HSPP
2022       Dana Lasek, PhD, HSPP
2021       Shannon Woller, PsyD, HSPP
2020       Dick Rhoad (Executive Director, IPA), Connie Vore (Director of Operations, IPA)

2017       Julie Steck, PhD, HSPP
2016       Not awarded
2015       Kathleen Vogler, PhD
2014       Chris Sullivan, PhD
2013       Susan McMahon
2012       Polly H Shepard, PsyD & John T. Heroldt, EdD
2011       Brian Primeau, PhD
2010       Rodney Timbrook, PhD
2009       David R. Bucur, PhD
2008       Not awarded
Distinguished Contribution by an Early Career Psychologist Award
This award was established in 2012 to recognize a psychologist who has made a distinguished contribution to the science and/or practice of psychology in Indiana during the first ten years post doctorate degree.
2023       Ryan Greene, PsyD, HSPP and Emily Roth, PsyD, HSPP
2022       Stephanie Cunningham, PhD, HSPP and Danielle Henderson, PhD, HSPP
2021       Jill Fodstad, PhD, HSPP
2020       Stephanie Cunningham, PhD, HSPP

Courtney B. Johnson, PhD, HSPP
2018       Ashleigh Woods, Psy.D., HSPP
2017       Aarika V. White, PhD, HSPP
2016       Maria P. Hanzlik, PsyD, HSPP
2014       Sarah Morsbach Honaker, PhD
2013       Jennifer Katzenstein
2012       Daniel S. DeBrule, PhD
James D. Linden Community Service Award
Created in 1966 and renamed in 1984 in honor of the late James D. Linden, this award is presented periodically to an individual who has advanced the aims and purposes of psychology as a science and/or a profession by dealing with the public. Such an individual may be a psychologist, a non-psychologist, or a layperson. Examples of the types of service for which this award is made may include outstanding public education effort relating to psychological principles or outstanding political leadership on behalf of the psychological welfare of the people.  This award is clearly distinguished from the Allied Professional Award by the necessity of direct contact with the public.
2020       Amanda Zelechoski, JD, PhD, ABPP
2019       Raymond W. Horn, PhD, and April D. Krowel, PhD, HSPP
2018       Justice Steven H. David, 106th Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court
2017       Natalie Dattilo, PhD, MHA, HSPP
2011       Stephen Ross, PsyD, ABPP
2010       Michael Murphy, PhD, Sharon Bowman, PhD, Thomas Holsworth, PhD, Joseph R. Biggs, PhD
2009       Thomas Barbera, PhD
2008       H Jeffrey Davis, PhD
Outstanding Mentoring in Indiana Psychology
Created in 2010, this award is presented to a psychologist who has served as an outstanding mentor to other psychologists while practicing in Indiana.
2022       Ann Lagges, PhD, HSPP and Fred Unverzagt, PhD, HSPP
2019       Elizabeth H. Akey, PhD, HSPP
2017       Maria P. Hanzlik, PsyD, HSPP
2014       Julie Steck, PhD
2012       Scott B. Hamilton, PsyD
2010       Michael D. Pisano, PhD
Legislator of the Year
Awarded to a legislator who has been an outstanding mental health leader in the Indiana legislature.
2022       State Senator Vaneta Becker and State Senator Mark Messmer
2018       State Representative Steve Davisson
2017       Representative Dave Frizzell
2016       Representative Bob Behning
2015       Representative Greg Steuerwald
2014       Representative Ron Bacon and Senator Vaneta Becker
2013       Senator Ron Alting
2012       Representative Charlie Brown
2011       Senator Brent Steele
2010       Representative Peggy Welch
2009       Senator Connie Lawson
Gordon A. Barrows Memorial Award – Distinguished Contributions to Psychology Over a Career
Created in 1963 to memorialize the life and work of the late Gordon Barrows, this award is presented to an Indiana psychologist, living or deceased, who has made distinguished contributions to psychology in Indiana over a considerable period of time. The recipient need not be a resident of Indiana at the time the award is presented, but his/her contribution must have been made while in state residence. The term “distinguished” should be construed in its most absolute sense; this award is not given simply for long, faithful service.        
2023       Greg Hale, PhD, HSPP
2022       Julie Steck, PhD, HSPP

2019       Christopher Sullivan, PhD, HSPP
2015       Theresa Kruczek, PhD
2011       Steven Couvillion, PhD, ABPdN
2009       Frederick W. Unverzagt, PhD
2008       Sharon Bowman, PhD
Psychologically Healthy Workplace Award

Established by the American Psychological Association (APA) and is designed to recognize organizations that understand the link between employee health and well-being and organizational performance through implementation of workplace practices that create a positive work environment. There is a detailed application and review process. Statewide winners are eligible for a national award through APA.
2017       Community Health Network Behavioral Health
2015       University of Indianapolis Counseling Center
2013       Porter-Starke
2012       Broad Ripple Animal Clinic
2011       Exact Target
2010       Clarian West Medical Center
Student Leadership Award
Established by the Indiana Psychological Association (IPA) in 2015.  This award is presented to a student member of IPA who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of psychology through leadership and advocacy in IPA and broader involvement on a local, state, and/or national level.
2020       Claire Scott-Bacon 
2019       Alia Rowe and Haley M. Sterling
2017       Matt Powless
2015       April Krowel

This page was last updated on November 11th, 2022